jump to navigation

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife : Pride and Prejudice continues… January 9, 2007

Posted by a Wristfister in Books, Fiction, Romance.
trackback

MrDarcyTakesAWife

Reviewer: Laura

465 pages–$17

Author: Linda Berdoll

Synopsis: A sequel to the great novel Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, this story takes off right where Austen leaves us …Mr. Darcy and Miss Elizabeth Bennett are married! A romantic novel of newlywed love and the trials of married life. The tale is written with a fairytale/romance style, complete with horses, castles and even wicked “witches ” and twisty plots where Mr. Darcy is always to the rescue of his precious Elizabeth! Definitely a fairytale book.

Review: I could hardly contain my excitement when Charlie spotted this book on the shelf at B&N. Being naive as I am, I never even thought that anyone would write a sequel to Pride and Prejudice….of course, I quickly found out that I am not alone in being a P&P lover. Naturally, anyone who loved Pride and Prejudice as much as me would probably love this book….I have to warn you though, it is very sappy and romantic. I fell in love with Mr. Darcy and Miss Elizabeth all over again!!!! Okay, now I’m gushing , so I’ll stop. I was hungry for more after reading P&P, and this book definitely satisfied any fantasies I had about Darcy and Elizabeth being married . The only thing that bothered me was that the author used a lot of the same terminology and kind of beat you over the head with the old English verbage.

All in all, if you didn’t like Pride and Prejudice so much, don’t bother…only read if you are insanely in love with the story.

9 out of 10

Comments»

1. Bowie - January 9, 2007

Why am I not surprised by the 9.0 rating? You should really have a separate scale for Austen novels. Like a mini-curve, all P&P-related novels would always fall between 8 and 10 on the master scale.

May I also suggest “Mrs Darcy’s Dilemma: A sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice” by Diana Birchall or
“Duty and Desire: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman” by Pamela Aidan

Seems there are more of the “sequel” books than I thought.

2. rrbooksamania - January 1, 2010

I will think about checking it out. They should make a book about Jane and Mr.Bingley. Please check out my blog.


Leave a Reply

